The Barn - Reviews

 

We all had an enjoyable and very comfortable few days, despite the inclement weather.  We would happily recommend Leys to friends, and should be pleased to come again when the weather is better.

The Fry family, Broad Chalke, Wilts

15 October 2018

We have enjoyed our week.  The barn conversion is beautiful and is the right amount of space for large groups.  The open-plan living area works well.

Enjoyed being next to the farm – the cows were a good distraction.  The horse was enjoyed as well.  There is lots to do with games, etc.   A BRILLIANT WEEK!  Thank you, Jill

Woodleys and Haywards

22 September 2018

We have had a lovely week in this beautiful barn conversion.  So lovely to return to Lyme Regis again and had great visits to Charmouth, Exmouth, Weymouth, Portland and West Bay.  Excellent mackerel for dinner following our trip with Harry May!

Thank you, Jill, for your hospitality and really enjoyed all the games too!

The Newell Family and Jess the dog

18 August 2018

Our week on the Jurassic Coast has been amazing.  Day trips to Corfe Castle, Durdle Door, and the Donkey Sanctuary were delightful.  A few days spent in Lyme Regis were wonderful as well.  The true highlight of our trip, however, is this incredible barn that you have prepared so well for visitors to enjoy.  Thank you so much for this unexpected week.  It will be one for the memories.

We loved everything – the home, the property/location, the surrounding area…  Thanks! (What a treat to stay in a house with teenagers and five bathrooms!)

John, Tracy, Macie & Garrick, Colorado, USA

19 July 2018

A super venue for us to spend my birthday weekend and a surprise for me too.  Well equipped and high quality accommodation with everything we needed and space to be together or have our own moments around the garden.  We enjoyed the different seating areas and had fun playing the games.  A great situation with views down the valleys and a lovely walk along the river to Lyme.  Thank you.  Found the seat at the top and the tree-house! :)

The Dew Family, Salisbury

2 June 2018

Thank you for providing us with such an amazing place to stay.  So clean, comfortable and welcoming.  Beautiful location, and ‘oh so’ quiet and peaceful.  Would love to return!  Thank you, Jill

Pat, Steve, Emma (9) and Abbie (7), New Forest

7 May 2018

Last time we were here was Easter.  We may not have been quite so lucky with the weather this time around, but the stay in the Barn was just as lovely.  Thank you.

Kate, Ben, Max, Elliot and Monty White, Petersfield, Hants

6 April 2018

The perfect home to spend New Year in.  Very cosy and comfortable and had everything we needed.  Jill really made us feel welcome!  Trips to the seaside, despite rain, and can’t wait to come again!

Michelle & Rob, Jason & Sam, plus children

1 January 2018

Another wonderful week’s holiday, weather very good again.  Facilities at the Barn excellent.

Lorraine Bodin and family

28 October 2017

Absolutely fabulous location to spend our first group holiday together.  The barn is excellently equipped for a great vacation and everyone enjoyed all the games outside, as we had glorious weather all week.   Great time celebrating Andy and Katya’s engagement.

We loved playing with Meggie.  We had two lovely meals in The Talbot Arms in Uplyme; lovely walk up and down the hill; and lovely to have a bus stop really close, so we could go into Lyme Regis.  There was lovely food in Lyme Regis at the Pilot Boat and at the French Lieutenant’s their food was amazing.

Phil, Mel, Andy, Katya, Camilla, Lisa, Freddie, Sharron ('The Shilton Gang'), Burford, Oxon

2 September 2017

Most lovely weather, so badminton tournaments and walks, barbecues and al fresco dinners….  Had a lovely meal at Hunters Lodge. Thank you for sharing this lovely Barn with us.  Jill has been a delightful landlady.  Such a pleasure.  Thanks again.

The Heaselden Family (3 generations), Hampshire

22 July 2017

We have had a most fabulous stay.  The accommodation and facilities have been beyond compare.  We have holidayed as a family for many years, and this is by far the best place.  We would love to come again.

Jill has been a marvellous hostess and I would like to thank her personally for her graciousness and kindness.

Julie Thorne and family, Battle, East Sussex

1 July 2017

Our fourth visit to the Leys!  Lovely weather yet again.  Our 4-year-old daughter thinks that it’s our holiday home – to be fair we wouldn’t mind moving in!

Meggie has provided plenty of entertainment too for everyone.

Had a lovely day trip to Weymouth, plenty to see there.

Thanks once again for your hospitality, Jill – can’t fault the facilities here.

The Morgan and the Hon Families, Shropshire

27 May 2017

We have had a wonderful week at Leys.  The accommodation is of a very high standard and extremely well equipped.  Our grand-daughter enjoyed seeing the cows, horses and Meg, the sheepdog.  The beds were comfortable too.  We enjoyed a super pottery workshop, producing some very original creations! And visited some lovely places in the area.  Thank you, Jill.  We will be recommending you to friends and colleagues.

The Blagrove Family

13 May 2017

Our second visit to the Barn.  We have had an enjoyable Bank Holiday weekend visit to the Dinosaur Festivities at Lyme – very good indeed.  Paddle-boarding at Charmouth as well as fossil hunting; also visited the Swannery near Chesil Bay.  All excellent.

The Davies Family: Owen, Vanessa, Kathryn, Luke, William & Caleb, Gareth & Jo, Abi & Andy

28 April 2017

We’ve had a fabulous stay here at Leys.  We have been very impressed with the space and high-quality finish throughout.  Everyone was very comfortable, relaxed and slept very well!  The wide variety of activities was great, particularly the boules piste.  We also took advantage of the workshops offered by the Pot Place.  Well worth it if you want to get your creative juices flowing.  For a fantastic meal out, we recommend The Shed in Seaton – a fabulous steak house.  Mmm!  Overall, a wonderful holiday and Jill is a great host.  Thank you!

Helen and Kofi Oslosu and family, Birmingham, Dorset and Kent

15 April 2017

Lovely holiday home!  Equipped with everything and more.  Would recommend to friends and family.  Great location and a great host.  Thank you, Jill

Graham Walton and Family, Yorkshire, E Midlands, Brighton

17 February 2017

Had a lovely week’s holiday. Barn beautiful, very comfortable and well equipped.  Thanks to Jill for wine and welcome, and for sorting microwave and oven so promptly.

Lorraine Bodin & family

October 2016

Had a fabulous week, and even the weather was kind to us.  The Barn is very comfortable, with all the equipment we needed.  Logs for the barbecue, which we enjoyed in the evening sunshine.  Beach days at Lyme Regis, Sidmouth, Beer and Branscombe.  Beer and Branscombe were dog friendly.  Lovely walk to Lyme Regis.

Felicity’s Farmshop provided some great dressed crab and meat for barbecues.  Millside at Lyme Regis provided a great evening meal for all of us.

Crealy’s Adventure Park was most enjoyable, especially for the children.  You can hire a dog kennel there too.  We did, but popped back every hour to check on her.  The Donkey Sanctuary is well worth a visit, and it’s free.  A lovely walk and the donkeys are just lovely.

We loved the Barn and its facilities, and much fun was had by all.  The photographs are amazing.  Just wish I lived in a bigger house to accommodate them.  Thanks so much.

Mandy & Colin Dixon, Lucy, Andre, Adam (6) & Lily (3) Treen, Sam Barrett & Charlotte Haynes, Purdy the Pooch

September 2016

Our holiday here has been wonderful – all our family came and stayed in the barn.  We have enjoyed ourselves very much.  The house has everything you could possibly want and MORE!  One of the best holiday cottages we have been to and we will be returning for sure. The barn has been renovated to a very high standard, and credit to Jill for making us welcome.  Even the weather was good to us!!

Carole Wraith

July 2016

We had a lovely stay; very comfortable and easy space.  Weather was amazing: who on earth gets sunburn in October?!  Fabulous walks, enjoyed the quick easy walk along the River Lim path, great for kids.  We will be back!

Sperling Family, Bagshot, Surrey

27 October 2018

A fantastic barn in a good location, with amazing weather all week.  Highly recommend Beer and cream teas in Abbotsbury.

Jill – thank you so much for everything.

The Vajas, Patels, Pathaks and Jayakumars

30 September 2018

We have all had a fantastic week in the beautiful barn conversion.  The space has allowed us all to relax and enjoy ourselves.  We’ve thoroughly explored Lyme Regis, went fossil hunting in Charmouth and booked a fishing trip with Harry May, and enjoyed our catch for lunch!  This really is an area where you can kick back, relax and enjoy.

Thank you so much, Jill, for your kind hospitality throughout.

The Hutchison and Dommett families

31 August 2018

We loved our stay in this beautiful spacious barn.  Spectacular views and enjoyed the selection of games, which kept us busy and active.  Hope to return.

The Dales and Eastwoods and Pam

28 July 2018

We all loved staying here at Leys  and found it to be a real home from home.  I am sure we will look to coming here again next year.  Thank you so much.

Peter Steele and party, Corterton, Oxfordshire

14 June 2018

What a fantastic holiday location.  The house is brilliant for large families and the owner was amazing.

Nearby beach was wonderful, and can highly recommend The Fisherman’s Wife fish-and-chip shop in Lyme Regis.

We would definitely come back again.  Thank you for a lovely holiday.

Craig Holman and family

18 May 2018

The property surpassed our expectations.  Everything we needed was here.  We have all enjoyed our stay.  Thank you.

Amelie and George (age 10 and 13):

We had a fantastic stay!  The beds were so comfortable and we all had a great night’s sleep.  George and I loved staying in the upstairs snug room.  We enjoyed playing petanque and chasing Meggie around the garden!  We loved our visit to Beer and Charmouth beach, but we didn’t find any fossils.  Thank you so much, Jill!

Kirkland party

9 April 2018

Absolutely lovely!  Celebrated 65th in style.  Gorgeous house.  Warm welcome from Jill.  Comfy beds and all you need.  We had very nice Sunday lunch at The Harbour.

Harrison party

22 January 2018

We enjoyed a lovely relaxing stay in the Barn.  Trips to the seaside and arty fare a plenty.  The kids (and adults) loved the table football and boules.  Meggie, the sheepdog, was a hit with George, the toddler.  The setting and Barn were idyllic, and we felt at home right from the off.  Jill’s friendly welcome to her Barn full of art was right up our street.  Thanks, Jill

The Conns, Awbridge

27 December 2017

We had a lovely long weekend in this gorgeous house.  The open-plan living space was perfect for our 9-month old to crawl around!  We did the walk to Lyme Regis and really enjoyed it, although we did drive to the bottom of the hill to avoid the walk back up!  Lunch at The Tytherleigh Arms is highly recommended and ‘Rachel’s’ on the beach at West Bay was also great.

A great venue and location for our annual family trip away.

Sophie, Peter, Eliza, Chris, Natalie, Julie, Steve & Liv, Surrey

25 September 2017

We had such a wonderful time here.  The house is beautiful, the walks are great, and it was just a lovely reunion of friends.  We all thoroughly enjoyed it and will never forget our wonderful holiday in Devon.  Thank you very much!

Kate & Keith Price, Gill & George Fawcet, & the Warwicks - Gill, Saul, Sam and Reuben

19 August 2017

Thank you for a wonderful stay.  We very much enjoyed our stay here and were lucky to have sunshine and blue skies all the while.  Everything we needed and more.  We would love to come back soon.

Thank you, Jill (and Meggie), for looking after us so well.

Dan, Gareth, Angie, Steve & Yan, Surrey & West Sussex

8 July 2017

This was our first visit to Leys and it didn’t disappoint.  It provided the perfect venue to celebrate Dad’s 70th birthday and provided great facilities for all from our 5-year-old to the older members of the party!  We particularly enjoyed all the games equipment and also catching and cooking mackerel on the bbq.  Jill, you’ve thought of everything and have created the perfect holiday home!  We really hope to return in the future.

The Moffatts and the Jones Families, Hants

5 June 2017

We’ve all had a lovely stay.  Jill responded quickly to any questions that we had.  Visited lots of local places – Lyme Regis, Monmouth Beach, West Bay, Bridport, steam train to Dartmouth, and Weymouth to name a few.  All very beautiful.  We would definitely come again.

The Wilsons, Belascos and Haydens, E Sussex

8 April 2017

We had a lovely time.  The house was comfortable and beautiful photos!  Thanks to Jill for the little extras to improve our stay – getting lighting fixed promptly, badminton nets, etc.  Great location and perfect for our family.

The Freemans (Cheryl, Jeremy, Vidalia, Logan, Rowan, Lewis, & Juniper), Doha, Qatar

December 2016

Another lovely stay at Leys.  We were so lucky with the weather again too.  Thanks once again, Jill, for making welcome.  Charlotte would take Meggie home if she could!

Recommend ‘The Whole Hog’ for awesome pork baps with all the trimmings – make sure you are hungry!

The Morgans and the Hons, Shropshire

September 2016

Had a really lovely stay here in the barn.  Weather was amazing all week.  We had lots of fun playing pool, football table, table tennis,  and volleyball in the meadow.  Recommend doing the walk into Lyme Regis – ideal distance (even with 3 kids) and beautiful.  Had a great meal at the Volunteer Inn in Lyme Regis.  Quite successful crabbing from the Cobb area – wait for high tide though.

Took a walk to the viaduct and played cricket down by the village hall in Uplyme.  Nice day out at Charmouth too.  The boys went deep-sea fishing with ‘Harry’, as recommended in Jill’s materials – had an ace time.  Caught rock salmon, which we then brought back to the barn and cooked for our tea.

Recommend Cellar 59 in Lyme Regis if you are a real ale lover – a must!

Really great holiday in a lovely part of the UK.

Kelly, Ben, Samuel (9), Harrison (7), Ethan (5) Padley, Farnham; Terry & Susan Padley, Guildford, Surrey

August 2016

Thank you, Jill, for an excellent stay!  Your barn is amazing and spacious, and was well-equipped to deal with all our needs, from chilling in the living area of an evening to all the games available to keep the kids busy.  Was perfect.  The neighbouring farmer was friendly when we watched the cows going in for milking.  Visiting over Lyme Regis Lifeboat Week was fantastic, with lots of activities to watch and partake in.  Recommendations for food would be The Shed at Seaton for steak, and The Bell Cliff Restaurant and Tea Rooms for an afternoon tea with scones.

There is a great walk from Leys to Lyme Regis, which was lovely for all the family to enjoy (especially the dogs).  Crabbing in Weymouth and fossil hunting in Lyme were also great fun!

The barn itself was always a clean and perfect place for us all to return to after a day out.  Clearly, a lot of thought has gone into the restoration and decoration of the barn, and it has been a pleasure to stay in!  Thank you again for your hospitality and friendly welcome.

The Armiger and Smith Families, plus Beau and Rusty (the dogs)

July 2016

We loved this house and the space, and it was everything we hoped for from this week.  Friendly people, beautiful countryside, stunning home.  My boys loved the walk up to the nature area, and enjoyed climbing the treehouse and playing on the various swings and rope ladder.  They love nature and were very excited to see so many grasshoppers – of all things.  We loved the beautiful horse in the field too.  Thank you for a wonderful holiday.

Cara, Thom and family

2 November 2018

Wow – what an INCREDIBLE few days!  Thank you so much, Jill, for letting us stay in your beautiful barn.  It genuinely exceeded all expectations.   Our mother had “the best birthday ever” and it’s not hard to understand how!  We loved exploring the beautiful grounds and returning home to such cosy and comfortable accommodation.  “Devon’s best kept secret” (in our opinion!).  Thanks so much for your kindness and generosity.  We will look back with very fond memories of our time in Leys and hope to return for upcoming 40th/70th family celebrations!!

The Holt Family, Woodley, Reading

7 October 2018

Lovely accommodation and lovely surroundings.  Everything you could possibly need catered for.  Had a brilliant week.

Eaten at: Hunters Lodge – excellent; Italia – good; The Pilot Boat – excellent fish and chips; Harbour Inn, Axmouth – excellent.

Tram at Seaton worth a ride, including wheelchairs.

Thank you, Jill, from us all.

King party, Nottingham

15 September 2018

A lovely family holiday in a beautiful location.  Thank you, Jill, for being so welcoming.  We had lots of lovely days out and enjoyed the facilities offered by your beautiful barn conversion.

The Pope and Morton Families

4 August 2018

A great venue for birthday week.  Thank you, Jill, for a wonderful barn conversion – quality and comfort.  Great location for walks and runs.  Enjoyable pottery session – thank you, Amanda.

Richard and Josh, Market Harborough, Leics

4 July 2018

We have enjoyed staying in this house, with comfortable beds.  We enjoyed visiting all the villages, etc. around this area.  It was lovely to meet Jill.  The children enjoyed the skittles and swingball, and the many beaches.  The eight of us fitted in here very well.  Thanks.

The Dommetts, Husseys and Revells, Sutton and Worthing

1 June 2018

We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay in your beautiful barn, and loved exploring the surrounding areas: the fantastic shops in Lyme Regis, the wonderful beaches at Charmouth and West Bay, and Pecorama Gardens in Beer.  Thank you, Jill

Louise, Andy, George, Amelie, Pam, Marion, Andrew & Toby the Dog, Ingatestone, Essex

14 April 2018

Fantastic stay, very comfortable place and great, friendly host.  Loved the Dippy on Tour for kids, local pub the Talbot Arms.

The Gales and Gardners

16 February 2018

Beautiful setting; lovely, relaxing and peaceful time.  Recommend ‘The Old Inn’ at Kilmington for great food.   We and the dogs enjoyed the walk into Lyme Regis, followed by chips on the Cobb!

The Eckersleys, Knowles and Taylors

30 December 2017

We had a lovely weekend all together.  The house was beautiful.  So enjoyable: we went to River Cottage for lunch, which was wonderful.  We spent the weekend in the stables, playing the games.  So great, we hope to see you again.

Francis, Katherine, Christopher, Carol and Bill, Reading

29 September 2017

Our second visit in two years, and once again it was memorable.  We didn’t have wall-to-wall sun, but that didn’t matter, because in the Barn everything is here.  We enjoyed fishing, walking and – would you believe it – sunbathing.  We can’t wait to get back when our diaries allow.

Thank you, Jill, for making everything so easy and ironing out any problems.

The Saunders Family, including Charles I, Bucks and W Sussex

26 August 2017

A perfect venue for a family holiday!  The Barn is stunning and we loved all the activities on site, particularly boules!  The peace and quiet was bliss, and we felt very lucky to have blue skies for almost the whole week.

Thanks to Jill for being so friendly and helpful, and for the freshly-dug potatoes, which 5 1/2-month Amaya enjoyed for her first taste of food!

Jane, Bala, Anane, Phil, Lucien, Caroline & Amaya, London & W Sussex

15 July 2017

We have had the most fabulous stay at Leys.  The welcome and attention to detail by Jill are beyond compare.  The accommodation is stunning and of an exceptional standard.  Everything you could need is here and more.

Perfect place for a perfect weekend.  Jill was the most accommodating hostess.  Even supplied perfect weather!

The Gresham Party, Bournemouth/Wimborne

19 June 2017

Another super family get-together of six plus one dog for a birthday treat.  Lovely location and fabulous facilities.  Loads of high quality space for all the family.  Loved all the games facilities.  Weather was good for the time of year, but staying in would not have been a problem.  We needed more practice with the log-burner!

Beautiful barn with lovely decor! Enjoyed the neighbours – horses and cows plus Meggie the farm dog – and the walk from the Barn to Lyme Regis.

Heather, Nigel, Ruth, Tom, Catherine, Tim & Archie, Bath & Chippenham

2 April 2017

We really enjoyed our week’s holiday over Christmas. Beautiful barn conversion, lovely area – we did some great walks.  We’d love to come back.

Grant, Nicky, Tharicha Lyn Longmuir, Jersey; Kerry, Tim, Raff & Theo Scott, Surrey

December 2016

We had a wonderful time here with the kids and grandparents.  Beautiful place and surroundings.  We all loved Lyme Regis.

Stephen Almashier

September 2016

Fantastic week and accommodation lovely; weather great; Jill and Meggie the Dog great hosts [Tony]

Lovely holiday home, felt very welcomed by Jill, and enjoyed a great time [Jenny]

Beautiful holiday home, which enabled me to have a very enjoyable time, thank you, and the pictures are amazing [Jen]

I’ve had a lovely time at this beautiful house.  Wonderful place for a wonderful holiday.  Thanks [Sophie]

A great house in a beautiful location.  Fantastic facilities that kept us all entertained.  Lovely meals at Hix, By the Bay and The Canteen in Axminster.  Great BBQs out on the terrace, and all the better for the bag of logs, and the perfect place to enjoy the scones cooked by Jen and Sophie.  Thank you, Jill, for having such a well-equipped holiday home.

McCallum and Farmer families, Bucks

August 2016

Thank you for a very enjoyable stay at the barn.  You have certainly provided all facilities required for our entertainment, including the weather!

The Sabin Family

August 2016

Thank you, Jill, for a welcome that made us feel ‘at home’. [Previous] comments cover it all for us too.  Superb place, 10/10.  Lim riverside walk to Lyme absolutely perfect for us and dog.  Peace and comfort in Leys much appreciated.  Saw Red Arrow display too!

Taylor Family, Cambridge and Winchester

July 2016