The Barn - Reviews

 

Thank you, Jill, for a fantastic, lovely barn.  We had a brilliant stay here and will come back with more music for you.  We were inspired to write 3 new songs!

Stephie, Jill, Carol, Deb, Linda, Jilly, Seffie and Ann, aka 'The Cheer Up Mollys' band

14 May 2022

The Barn was a wonderful place for our two families to enjoy the delights of Lyme Regis as well as quality time together. The standard of entire Barn was very high and down to the luxurious towels, it all felt like a wonderful treat. The thoughtful welcome goodies from Jill were a lovely way to sample some of the local delights. The layout of the kitchen, dining and living area was perfect for a young family and the cribs and the high chairs just added to us feeling like we were at a home away from home with our young families. Thank you and we will warmly recommend! Sabrina and Myra with families!

Sabrina and Myra and families

24 February 2022

A lovely few days away after Christmas.  Jill, you were so kind and thoughtful, and we had a very restful break.  Beds are really comfy, showers great.

Thank you.  We hope to be back.  Lovely situation.  Thanks for a super stay.

 

Martha, Jo, Jan, Mon, Sophia, Ayah and Sadie, Brighton and Exeter

30 December 2021

The barn conversion is beautiful and very spacious for big groups.  The bedrooms and en-suites were all exceptional.  Really loved the fluffy towels and the beds were super comfy.  The kitchen was also well equipped to enable us to cook up delicious meals each night.  We really enjoyed our stay at Valley View Farm.  We would definitely come again.  Thank you, Jill.  A wonderful holiday.

 

Scott Family, Bolton

30 October 2021

There is a slice of Dorset

That’s known to just a few

Up winding lanes, mid rolling hills

They call it Valley View

The barn is large and spacious

Airy, light and clean

A home from home for weary folk

A place to pause and dream

Jill’s made a peaceful haven

From which to go, explore

To Charmouth, Lyme and Seatown

And oh so many more

But home is where the heart is

And for a week it’s here

We leave it warmed by memories

Who knows, be back next year?

 

 

Jeannie and Alastair Hignell and Chris and Rob Savage

4 September 2021

We travelled down for a family wedding at River Cottage. The location has been great. We have explored Lyme Regis, Seaton and Charmouth. The space is wonderful, and well equipped with everything we needed. We enjoyed playing petanque and giant Jenga. All in all we’ve had a fabulous time and would recommend Leys when visiting the area.

The Elters, Chawners and Smith, Derbyshire

14 August 2021

Thank you, Jill, for the use of your beautiful house. We’ve had a super week here, with everything we could possibly need. We hope to be back soon!

The Clarkes and Allens, Sheffield, Bedford and Suffolk

17 July 2021

Here with our grandson (Finn) for his first family holiday.  Thank you, Jill, for allowing us to stay in your perfect barn conversion – spacious, well-equipped, comfortable and everything you need! Thank you, Mike Sale, for your informative fossil walk on Monmouth Beach.  Thank you, Penny, for your great pottery class – both therapeutic and inspiring with our creations and help to make them.  Highlights were our walks to Lyme Regis along the River Lim; path from Colyton, passing Cannington Viaduct; lunch at Oyster House; seafood platter lunch at The Three Horseshoes, Burton Bradstock; competitive boules/croquet/badminton/skittles.  We all really enjoyed ourselves.

Mike, Susan and family, Wimbledon SW19

25 June 2021

We had our first family holiday with our 9-month old twin grandchildren, and had a great time at Leys.  The barn is very comfortable and well appointed.  Bedrooms are nice and beds are comfy. We thoroughly enjoyed the boules.

Weather mixed, but it didn’t stop us getting out and about.

The walk from Uplyme to Lyme Regis is very good and double-baby-buggy friendly.

The Bagleys, Booths and Gibsons, Wimborne, Dorset

21 May 2021

So many “Wows” were uttered when we arrived.  What a beautiful place you have here!  After such a generally rubbish year, we were never sure we would get here until we actually arrived.  We had a wonderful stay, despite changeable weather.  The games provided in the snug plus the stash of bats/towels, etc in the hall seat helped us to make the most of our stay, and the pool/table tennis tables were a great bonus.  It seemed that everything was provided, both inside and out – certainly enjoyed the log burner!  Olivia and Beau enjoyed the pottery with Penny, and are looking forward to the arrival of their unicorn and triceratops in the post!  Overall fantastic, and looking forward to returning with better weather!

Eileen, Bob, Karen, Dan, Steve, Jo, Olivia and Beau

The Parkers, Southampton

31 October 2020

It’s been a lovely stay in a wonderful house.  Thank you, Jill, for everything and Penny for the pottery lessons.  We all enjoyed the pottery and seeing the cows, playing the games and feeding the horses.  Ori (aged 3) has had a fantastic time exploring outdoors and enjoyed the wonderful open-plan style of the barn with all his family.

Thanks for a brilliant stay.  Hope to see you again soon.

Carole, Geoff, Sarah, Ozz, Orion, Emma and Greg, West Midlands

5 September 2020

Lovely walk along the Lim River Path to Lyme Regis.  Good fun mackerel fishing (although no mackerel caught!) and playing crazy golf.  Perfect accommodation for two families with plenty to keep the 4 boys occupied!

Moore and May Families

1 August 2020

A great place to spend New Year and ideal for four couples, who each want their own bathroom!  Well equipped, and Jill was most helpful.  Thank you from us all.  Will recommend.

Burke, Eno, Lambourne and Smallwood party

5 January 2020

What a wonderful place!  Leys had everything we needed and more.  We thoroughly enjoyed the walk into Lyme, the surroundings and the barn itself. We’ll definitely be back.  Thank you so much!

The Spilkers, Kent

28 October 2019

We were made very welcome by Jill on our arrival.  Have all enjoyed our stay at Leys.  A very good location and a really comfortable barn conversion.  You seem to have thought of everything for your guests.  Many thanks for the welcome pack of produce.  Weather has been very changeable during our stay, but we still found plenty of things to do.  Only missed out on our planned fishing trip – perhaps next time.  Members of our party enjoyed some really good walks in the area.

Many thanks for our stay.

Westpfel Family, West Sussex & Lincolnshire

28 September 2019

We have had an amazing time in this beautiful barn.  We have enjoyed all the amenities Jill has laid on.  We explored the area, enjoyed beautiful countryside and beaches.  We hope to return.

Lewis, Bray and Loftus families

17 August 2019

Long-weekend stay plus first time at Leys – what a gorgeous place!  Everything we needed was on hand and, although a beautiful secluded location, it was central and so close to everywhere we had planned to go.  The children have really enjoyed roaming free and definitely explored every corner, I think!  Perfect weekend.  Thanks for having us to stay.

Janet, Niall, Isabelle, Darrell, Holly, Florence and Mabel

Tutton group

24 June 2019

We have had a fantastic week.  Loved every minute of living in this beautiful property.  The countryside is stunning and beds especially comfortable.  Many thanks, Jill.

Trish & Tom Masters; Anna, Roz, Zakee & Kiki Mansoor

31 May 2019

We have had the most amazing time at the barn.  Every last detail has been thought about and catered for.  Jill, you have been wonderful, so helpful and kind.  We would love to return one day and will definitely tell our friends and family.

PS the beds are super comfy, had the best sleep.  Thanks for everything.

The West family

7 May 2019

We all had an amazing time.  The barn was the perfect base for us to explore the local area.  This week we have all enjoyed our much-needed break, and thank you, Jill, very much for our stay.

The Vaughan & Evans Families, Caldicot, Monmouth, S Wales

2 March 2019

We had a brilliant Christmas – all 8 of us plus dog!  Thank you for the Christmas tree!  Lovely spacious cottage and beautiful setting.

The Mellows Family, North London

Christmas 2018

We all had an enjoyable and very comfortable few days, despite the inclement weather.  We would happily recommend Leys to friends, and should be pleased to come again when the weather is better.

The Fry family, Broad Chalke, Wilts

15 October 2018

We have enjoyed our week.  The barn conversion is beautiful and is the right amount of space for large groups.  The open-plan living area works well.

Enjoyed being next to the farm – the cows were a good distraction.  The horse was enjoyed as well.  There is lots to do with games, etc.   A BRILLIANT WEEK!  Thank you, Jill

Woodleys and Haywards

22 September 2018

We have had a lovely week in this beautiful barn conversion.  So lovely to return to Lyme Regis again and had great visits to Charmouth, Exmouth, Weymouth, Portland and West Bay.  Excellent mackerel for dinner following our trip with Harry May!

Thank you, Jill, for your hospitality and really enjoyed all the games too!

The Newell Family and Jess the dog

18 August 2018

Our week on the Jurassic Coast has been amazing.  Day trips to Corfe Castle, Durdle Door, and the Donkey Sanctuary were delightful.  A few days spent in Lyme Regis were wonderful as well.  The true highlight of our trip, however, is this incredible barn that you have prepared so well for visitors to enjoy.  Thank you so much for this unexpected week.  It will be one for the memories.

We loved everything – the home, the property/location, the surrounding area…  Thanks! (What a treat to stay in a house with teenagers and five bathrooms!)

John, Tracy, Macie & Garrick, Colorado, USA

19 July 2018

A super venue for us to spend my birthday weekend and a surprise for me too.  Well equipped and high quality accommodation with everything we needed and space to be together or have our own moments around the garden.  We enjoyed the different seating areas and had fun playing the games.  A great situation with views down the valleys and a lovely walk along the river to Lyme.  Thank you.  Found the seat at the top and the tree-house! :)

The Dew Family, Salisbury

2 June 2018

Thank you for providing us with such an amazing place to stay.  So clean, comfortable and welcoming.  Beautiful location, and ‘oh so’ quiet and peaceful.  Would love to return!  Thank you, Jill

Pat, Steve, Emma (9) and Abbie (7), New Forest

7 May 2018

Last time we were here was Easter.  We may not have been quite so lucky with the weather this time around, but the stay in the Barn was just as lovely.  Thank you.

Kate, Ben, Max, Elliot and Monty White, Petersfield, Hants

6 April 2018

The perfect home to spend New Year in.  Very cosy and comfortable and had everything we needed.  Jill really made us feel welcome!  Trips to the seaside, despite rain, and can’t wait to come again!

Michelle & Rob, Jason & Sam, plus children

1 January 2018

Another wonderful week’s holiday, weather very good again.  Facilities at the Barn excellent.

Lorraine Bodin and family

28 October 2017

Absolutely fabulous location to spend our first group holiday together.  The barn is excellently equipped for a great vacation and everyone enjoyed all the games outside, as we had glorious weather all week.   Great time celebrating Andy and Katya’s engagement.

We loved playing with Meggie.  We had two lovely meals in The Talbot Arms in Uplyme; lovely walk up and down the hill; and lovely to have a bus stop really close, so we could go into Lyme Regis.  There was lovely food in Lyme Regis at the Pilot Boat and at the French Lieutenant’s their food was amazing.

Phil, Mel, Andy, Katya, Camilla, Lisa, Freddie, Sharron ('The Shilton Gang'), Burford, Oxon

2 September 2017

Most lovely weather, so badminton tournaments and walks, barbecues and al fresco dinners….  Had a lovely meal at Hunters Lodge. Thank you for sharing this lovely Barn with us.  Jill has been a delightful landlady.  Such a pleasure.  Thanks again.

The Heaselden Family (3 generations), Hampshire

22 July 2017

We have had a most fabulous stay.  The accommodation and facilities have been beyond compare.  We have holidayed as a family for many years, and this is by far the best place.  We would love to come again.

Jill has been a marvellous hostess and I would like to thank her personally for her graciousness and kindness.

Julie Thorne and family, Battle, East Sussex

1 July 2017

Our fourth visit to the Leys!  Lovely weather yet again.  Our 4-year-old daughter thinks that it’s our holiday home – to be fair we wouldn’t mind moving in!

Meggie has provided plenty of entertainment too for everyone.

Had a lovely day trip to Weymouth, plenty to see there.

Thanks once again for your hospitality, Jill – can’t fault the facilities here.

The Morgan and the Hon Families, Shropshire

27 May 2017

We have had a wonderful week at Leys.  The accommodation is of a very high standard and extremely well equipped.  Our grand-daughter enjoyed seeing the cows, horses and Meg, the sheepdog.  The beds were comfortable too.  We enjoyed a super pottery workshop, producing some very original creations! And visited some lovely places in the area.  Thank you, Jill.  We will be recommending you to friends and colleagues.

The Blagrove Family

13 May 2017

Our second visit to the Barn.  We have had an enjoyable Bank Holiday weekend visit to the Dinosaur Festivities at Lyme – very good indeed.  Paddle-boarding at Charmouth as well as fossil hunting; also visited the Swannery near Chesil Bay.  All excellent.

The Davies Family: Owen, Vanessa, Kathryn, Luke, William & Caleb, Gareth & Jo, Abi & Andy

28 April 2017

We’ve had a fabulous stay here at Leys.  We have been very impressed with the space and high-quality finish throughout.  Everyone was very comfortable, relaxed and slept very well!  The wide variety of activities was great, particularly the boules piste.  We also took advantage of the workshops offered by the Pot Place.  Well worth it if you want to get your creative juices flowing.  For a fantastic meal out, we recommend The Shed in Seaton – a fabulous steak house.  Mmm!  Overall, a wonderful holiday and Jill is a great host.  Thank you!

Helen and Kofi Oslosu and family, Birmingham, Dorset and Kent

15 April 2017

Lovely holiday home!  Equipped with everything and more.  Would recommend to friends and family.  Great location and a great host.  Thank you, Jill

Graham Walton and Family, Yorkshire, E Midlands, Brighton

17 February 2017

Had a lovely week’s holiday. Barn beautiful, very comfortable and well equipped.  Thanks to Jill for wine and welcome, and for sorting microwave and oven so promptly.

Lorraine Bodin & family

October 2016

Had a fabulous week, and even the weather was kind to us.  The Barn is very comfortable, with all the equipment we needed.  Logs for the barbecue, which we enjoyed in the evening sunshine.  Beach days at Lyme Regis, Sidmouth, Beer and Branscombe.  Beer and Branscombe were dog friendly.  Lovely walk to Lyme Regis.

Felicity’s Farmshop provided some great dressed crab and meat for barbecues.  Millside at Lyme Regis provided a great evening meal for all of us.

Crealy’s Adventure Park was most enjoyable, especially for the children.  You can hire a dog kennel there too.  We did, but popped back every hour to check on her.  The Donkey Sanctuary is well worth a visit, and it’s free.  A lovely walk and the donkeys are just lovely.

We loved the Barn and its facilities, and much fun was had by all.  The photographs are amazing.  Just wish I lived in a bigger house to accommodate them.  Thanks so much.

Mandy & Colin Dixon, Lucy, Andre, Adam (6) & Lily (3) Treen, Sam Barrett & Charlotte Haynes, Purdy the Pooch

September 2016

Our holiday here has been wonderful – all our family came and stayed in the barn.  We have enjoyed ourselves very much.  The house has everything you could possibly want and MORE!  One of the best holiday cottages we have been to and we will be returning for sure. The barn has been renovated to a very high standard, and credit to Jill for making us welcome.  Even the weather was good to us!!

Carole Wraith

July 2016

Thank you for such a lovely and welcoming stay!  We have really enjoyed this beautiful converted barn.

We have found fossils, seen foxes, rode horses and seen some fantastic sights!

We would love to return again.

The McGawsons, Saighton, Chester

9 April 2022

Thank you for a wonderful stay at Valley View in the Barn.  It has been very comfortable here and we’ve had some great days out, despite wind and rain!  We visited Seaton Tramway for the Wildlife Photographic exhibition, and will have to return soon to go on the trams through the wetlands.  We also enjoyed a delicious meal at the Anchor in Seatown – highly recommended!  The walk into Lyme Regis along the River Lim was very pretty (taking the bus back up the hill!), and our fossil walk with Mike was our highlight.  Thank you, Jill.

The Thorpe Family

15 February 2022

A girls long weekend!  We came to celebrate our friend’s special birthday and had a truly wonderful time.

Jill was so helpful and the barn conversion is perfect – comfortable, plenty of space, lots of little touches to ensure you have everything you need.

We had a brilliant time with Lucy in the Pot Place – she was very sweet and patient with us.

Special dinner at Millside restaurant – plates were empty!  Also lovely roast at the Harbour Inn for Sunday lunch.

Thank you, Jill, for making our weekend so special, and thank you, Guy, for making it all spotless and the wonderful towel art!

Debbie and friends, Dorset

15 November 2021

A lovely location for our first ‘sibling’ break since the pandemic.  Weather was very kind, Leys looked after all our needs.  Plenty of walks, but limited it to one to Lyme Regis and back.  Thank you, and very enjoyable.

Massey party, Nutfield, Surrey

11 October 2021

Thank you, Jill, for a wonderful stay at Leys.  This really is such a very special place!  Being roused from our slumbers by the cows was actually very special and ensured a full day’s activities.  We loved sitting on the terrace for breakfast and challenging each other to petanque.  The walk into Lyme is a must.  Beautiful, and to come into Combe Street and its great attractions – including some fabulous art galleries.  Local restaurants are great – the pop-ups especially, London prices!  We enjoyed the Black Dog tea after a walk to the Viaduct.

Our one trip out was to Abbotsbury Subtropical Garden.  A great drive, superb views and such a peaceful place – great access too.  Best of all was just being at Leys – relaxing.  We have never slept so well.  So thank you…. we shall return!

Deborah and Simon Swallow (Pippa, Olly, Jessica and James), Essex

28th August 2021

What a beautiful house! We loved the different places to sit and enjoy the sun/view. The kitchen was excellently equipped for our keen family cooks! Hamish and Esme loved all the play areas, including the tyre swing and of course the table football. Ensuite bathrooms wonderful!
Thank you for being so hospitable and welcoming. You have created a marvellous place to stay here and all so interesting.
The path down to Lyme Regis is very pretty and great for Pooh sticks! Livvy and Stu loved eating in ‘Swim’ at Lyme Regis. We did a great cliff walk from Branscombe to Beer (bus back). The tram ride was wonderful through the wetlands and Colyton station does excellent cream teas!
Many thanks.

Julie and Stephen Drew, and family, Oxford

31 July 2021

Amazing space – great way to relax and catch up after a long year apart. Lots to do around the place – Jill very helpful and great with kids. Will be recommending here to others and would love to return in the future. Thank you.

Chris Gibson and family, Glasgow and Ireland

10 July 2021

A stunning barn in a beautiful setting.  We had brilliant weather for our family holiday and made some lovely memories.  I hope we will return soon.  A real home from home.  Thank you, Jill, for your hospitality..

 

Fordhams/Stubbs family, Derbyshire

5 June 2021

Jill, you are an amazing and wonderful hostess!!  Leys is certainly 5-star in every way possible.  We’ve not slept so well in ages, assisted by your direction to the most breathtaking of walks along the SW Coast Path.  Although just the two of us, the barn was warm and cosy, and we certainly enjoyed our wood-burner fix!  Thanks to Guy too for cleaning, towel art and fire prep for our arrival.  The most heartfelt thanks, Jill.

 

Maz and Tim Pollock, Brixham

December 2020

A wonderful time was had by all of us!  4 adults, 6 yrs, 4yrs, 2yrs, 1 yr!  Loved seeing the cows come in for milking and exploring the nature reserve.  Most of our days were spent in Lyme Regis and Charmouth, playing in the sea, sand and fossil hunting.  The barn has been a wonderful base for us, with lots to entertain the adults when the kids are in bed (even if we aren’t any good at darts!).  Thank you, Jill, we had a great holiday.

Claire Brooks and family, Salisbury and Portishead

22 August 2020

Many, many thanks for the perfect stay at your stunning barn.  You’ve set it up so beautifully, with your photographic art and all the little thoughtful touches.  What a beautiful part of the UK you live in.

Best wishes to you, and to fossil expert Mike, who took us on a great tour of Monmouth Beach.

The Williams Gang, Dartford and Camberley

17 October 2020

Thanks, Jill, for another amazing visit – we’ve been so happy!  Fantastic second visit here!  Even better than before, as we knew where things were, etc.  Weather has been gorgeous most of the time.  We discovered Eype beach (quietish) with good snacks up from car park.  No toilets!  Langdon Hill walk – can be made shorter or longer – very good.  Seaton, Charmouth and Seatown beaches good and fewer people than Lyme Regis (which has good sand) or West Bay.  Did not find River Cottage in Axminster lived up to its name – mixed reactions, not highly recommended.  Incredible food at The Anchor in Seatown.  Thanks, Jill, for your lovely welcome and beautiful house.  We will be back.

The Savage and Jones Families

15 August 2020

A perfect family week after so much time apart.  It all went so quickly!  We loved all the nearby walks, fossil hunting and lying on the beach in the sun.  The house was very comfortable and well equipped.  Thank you.

Jane, Nick, Olivia, Clare and Owen

The Maynard Family

18 July 2020

2 families, 5 kids, Thanksgiving.  Fossils a plenty, wall-building, pottery, nature walks. So much fun.  Will definitely be back.  The house and hospitality were top notch.  Sad to leave!  Thanks for everything.

Masimore family, London

30 November 2019

We had a lovely stay at Leys.  An amazing building with everything we needed for a comfortable and relaxing stay.  A great location to explore the local area and enjoy the outstanding beauty.  Jill was a welcoming host and was extremely helpful.  I would highly recommend!  Thanks again!

The Loveridges

21 October 2019

Great place for a family holiday with three generations.  Beach at Lyme Regis is fantastic for young children.  House is magnificent.  We had a fantastic holiday.  We have all enjoyed the walking and scenery in the area.

Robinsons, Ridgers and Overall

7 September 2019

Amazing house in a beautiful part of the country.  We’ve enjoyed exploring the area and playing all the games in the house and outside.  The house is spacious, clean and very well equipped.  We’ll definitely be back.

Whiteman Family

10 August 2019

Our return visit was as good as last year.  Thoroughly enjoyed the wonderful facilities and look forward to coming back in 2020.

Burford Golfing Group

20 June 2019

A very enjoyable and relaxing week, encompassing the celebration of a 40th birthday.  Burrow Farm Gardens with 13 acres to admire and views of the surrounding countryside.  Seaton Tramway with the 3-mile ride via Colyford to Colyton, taking in the Axe Valley.  Burton Bradstock with access to Hive Beach and of course Lyme Regis.  As the weather was mostly sunny we availed ourselves of the outdoor extensive facilities,  Our nearly-4 year old  enjoyed the swing ball.

Gale and Tompkins Families

18 May 2019

Been playing all your games.  Thank you for a lovely holiday in your house.  Perfect place for a family weekend.

Mason Family, Bristol and London

8 April 2019

Fabulous place!  Well equipped, comfortable and stylish.  Welcoming and extra touches to make your stay more comfortable.  Jill was extremely welcoming and full of helpful information. 5 star!  Thank you.  We had a fantastic time.

The Workmans et al, South Bucks

New Year 2018/19

We had a lovely stay; very comfortable and easy space.  Weather was amazing: who on earth gets sunburn in October?!  Fabulous walks, enjoyed the quick easy walk along the River Lim path, great for kids.  We will be back!

Sperling Family, Bagshot, Surrey

27 October 2018

A fantastic barn in a good location, with amazing weather all week.  Highly recommend Beer and cream teas in Abbotsbury.

Jill – thank you so much for everything.

The Vajas, Patels, Pathaks and Jayakumars

30 September 2018

We have all had a fantastic week in the beautiful barn conversion.  The space has allowed us all to relax and enjoy ourselves.  We’ve thoroughly explored Lyme Regis, went fossil hunting in Charmouth and booked a fishing trip with Harry May, and enjoyed our catch for lunch!  This really is an area where you can kick back, relax and enjoy.

Thank you so much, Jill, for your kind hospitality throughout.

The Hutchison and Dommett families

31 August 2018

We loved our stay in this beautiful spacious barn.  Spectacular views and enjoyed the selection of games, which kept us busy and active.  Hope to return.

The Dales and Eastwoods and Pam

28 July 2018

We all loved staying here at Leys  and found it to be a real home from home.  I am sure we will look to coming here again next year.  Thank you so much.

Peter Steele and party, Corterton, Oxfordshire

14 June 2018

What a fantastic holiday location.  The house is brilliant for large families and the owner was amazing.

Nearby beach was wonderful, and can highly recommend The Fisherman’s Wife fish-and-chip shop in Lyme Regis.

We would definitely come back again.  Thank you for a lovely holiday.

Craig Holman and family

18 May 2018

The property surpassed our expectations.  Everything we needed was here.  We have all enjoyed our stay.  Thank you.

Amelie and George (age 10 and 13):

We had a fantastic stay!  The beds were so comfortable and we all had a great night’s sleep.  George and I loved staying in the upstairs snug room.  We enjoyed playing petanque and chasing Meggie around the garden!  We loved our visit to Beer and Charmouth beach, but we didn’t find any fossils.  Thank you so much, Jill!

Kirkland party

9 April 2018

Absolutely lovely!  Celebrated 65th in style.  Gorgeous house.  Warm welcome from Jill.  Comfy beds and all you need.  We had very nice Sunday lunch at The Harbour.

Harrison party

22 January 2018

We enjoyed a lovely relaxing stay in the Barn.  Trips to the seaside and arty fare a plenty.  The kids (and adults) loved the table football and boules.  Meggie, the sheepdog, was a hit with George, the toddler.  The setting and Barn were idyllic, and we felt at home right from the off.  Jill’s friendly welcome to her Barn full of art was right up our street.  Thanks, Jill

The Conns, Awbridge

27 December 2017

We had a lovely long weekend in this gorgeous house.  The open-plan living space was perfect for our 9-month old to crawl around!  We did the walk to Lyme Regis and really enjoyed it, although we did drive to the bottom of the hill to avoid the walk back up!  Lunch at The Tytherleigh Arms is highly recommended and ‘Rachel’s’ on the beach at West Bay was also great.

A great venue and location for our annual family trip away.

Sophie, Peter, Eliza, Chris, Natalie, Julie, Steve & Liv, Surrey

25 September 2017

We had such a wonderful time here.  The house is beautiful, the walks are great, and it was just a lovely reunion of friends.  We all thoroughly enjoyed it and will never forget our wonderful holiday in Devon.  Thank you very much!

Kate & Keith Price, Gill & George Fawcet, & the Warwicks - Gill, Saul, Sam and Reuben

19 August 2017

Thank you for a wonderful stay.  We very much enjoyed our stay here and were lucky to have sunshine and blue skies all the while.  Everything we needed and more.  We would love to come back soon.

Thank you, Jill (and Meggie), for looking after us so well.

Dan, Gareth, Angie, Steve & Yan, Surrey & West Sussex

8 July 2017

This was our first visit to Leys and it didn’t disappoint.  It provided the perfect venue to celebrate Dad’s 70th birthday and provided great facilities for all from our 5-year-old to the older members of the party!  We particularly enjoyed all the games equipment and also catching and cooking mackerel on the bbq.  Jill, you’ve thought of everything and have created the perfect holiday home!  We really hope to return in the future.

The Moffatts and the Jones Families, Hants

5 June 2017

We’ve all had a lovely stay.  Jill responded quickly to any questions that we had.  Visited lots of local places – Lyme Regis, Monmouth Beach, West Bay, Bridport, steam train to Dartmouth, and Weymouth to name a few.  All very beautiful.  We would definitely come again.

The Wilsons, Belascos and Haydens, E Sussex

8 April 2017

We had a lovely time.  The house was comfortable and beautiful photos!  Thanks to Jill for the little extras to improve our stay – getting lighting fixed promptly, badminton nets, etc.  Great location and perfect for our family.

The Freemans (Cheryl, Jeremy, Vidalia, Logan, Rowan, Lewis, & Juniper), Doha, Qatar

December 2016

Another lovely stay at Leys.  We were so lucky with the weather again too.  Thanks once again, Jill, for making welcome.  Charlotte would take Meggie home if she could!

Recommend ‘The Whole Hog’ for awesome pork baps with all the trimmings – make sure you are hungry!

The Morgans and the Hons, Shropshire

September 2016

Had a really lovely stay here in the barn.  Weather was amazing all week.  We had lots of fun playing pool, football table, table tennis,  and volleyball in the meadow.  Recommend doing the walk into Lyme Regis – ideal distance (even with 3 kids) and beautiful.  Had a great meal at the Volunteer Inn in Lyme Regis.  Quite successful crabbing from the Cobb area – wait for high tide though.

Took a walk to the viaduct and played cricket down by the village hall in Uplyme.  Nice day out at Charmouth too.  The boys went deep-sea fishing with ‘Harry’, as recommended in Jill’s materials – had an ace time.  Caught rock salmon, which we then brought back to the barn and cooked for our tea.

Recommend Cellar 59 in Lyme Regis if you are a real ale lover – a must!

Really great holiday in a lovely part of the UK.

Kelly, Ben, Samuel (9), Harrison (7), Ethan (5) Padley, Farnham; Terry & Susan Padley, Guildford, Surrey

August 2016

Thank you, Jill, for an excellent stay!  Your barn is amazing and spacious, and was well-equipped to deal with all our needs, from chilling in the living area of an evening to all the games available to keep the kids busy.  Was perfect.  The neighbouring farmer was friendly when we watched the cows going in for milking.  Visiting over Lyme Regis Lifeboat Week was fantastic, with lots of activities to watch and partake in.  Recommendations for food would be The Shed at Seaton for steak, and The Bell Cliff Restaurant and Tea Rooms for an afternoon tea with scones.

There is a great walk from Leys to Lyme Regis, which was lovely for all the family to enjoy (especially the dogs).  Crabbing in Weymouth and fossil hunting in Lyme were also great fun!

The barn itself was always a clean and perfect place for us all to return to after a day out.  Clearly, a lot of thought has gone into the restoration and decoration of the barn, and it has been a pleasure to stay in!  Thank you again for your hospitality and friendly welcome.

The Armiger and Smith Families, plus Beau and Rusty (the dogs)

July 2016

We have thoroughly enjoyed re-visiting Dorset, even though the weather was mixed.  The barn has been a beautiful place to stay in and we have been very comfortable here.  Thank you, Jill, for being such an hospitable host.

Sue, Roger, Barbara, Malc, Ann and Tony, Derby, Rotherham and Leeds

21 May 2022

An absolutely wonderful stay.  Weather was perfect.  Leys is really lovely.  Everything one could want.  Thank you.

Excellent week to celebrate a ‘big’ birthday.  Accommodation everything we had hoped for as a family venue.  Peaceful, quiet and perfect weather for the whole week.

All the little extra touches very much appreciated.  Lovely walk up to the old railway viaduct, wildlife, including a fox.  Thank you – will be back!

Egbeare party

25 March 2022

Wonderful stay, great facilities.  Thank you, Jill.   Another lovely break.  We look forward to another stay in the near future.

The Gibbs and Fenwick families

2 January 2022

Wow, what an amazing place to stay for a few days.  The whole place is beautifully thought out, and we made good use of the outdoor space, despite the cold weather.  We can highly recommend the Talbot Arms in Uplyme, and the lovely river walk into Lyme Regis.

Thank you so much, Jill.  We’ll absolutely be back.

Helen's group, Maidstone, Kent

7 November 2021

What a wonderful stay.  Beautiful barn, stunning scenery and amazing weather.  We couldn’t have wished for anything better – batteries fully recharged!  Thank you, Jill

Gino and Vanessa Andreoli and family, Askrigg, N Yorks

25 September 2021

Another wonderful week in one of our favourite places – this time as 3 generations.  We love Leys for its location and facilities – the perfect setting for quality time as a family.

Thank you for having us, Jill.

Lewis, Bray and Loftus Clan

21 August 2021

Sun (lots of it all week), walking (River Lim walk into town), star gazing, plenty of good food (and ice creams), time on the beach, fossil hunting at low tide (Ammonite Pavement is definitely worth a visit), all topped in a superb location and 5-star accommodation.
Many thanks for your wonderful hospitality, Jill. We had a super time on our second visit to Leys. I am sure we will be back!

David and Hayley Humphries and family, South Bucks

24 July 2021

What a great barn!  We had the best time.  Most perfect location near Lyme Regis and other beaches.  All the bathrooms great too!  We would like to come back and will be recommending to others back home.

Dan and family, Putney SW15

25 June 2021

Another lovely few days in your stunning barn, Jill.  All facilities are great and beautiful fittings.  The pizza oven is an excellent addition well used and enjoyed.  See you next year.

Nick, Julia, Kevin, Sue, Pete and Liz, Burford Golf Club

17 June 2021

We have all had a wonderful time in this beautiful barn and gorgeous countryside – such a stunning part of the UK.

Our grandchildren were fully entertained with all the things you provided for them – so many different things for all ages – games, bats, balls, pool table, table tennis, fun nature trail…..  They were fascinated by the cows coming home to be milked.  They thoroughly enjoyed the fossil hunting, which we did most days.  We took the Lyme Rib boat ride along the coast, which was very enjoyable.

Thank you, Jill, for letting us stay – we hope to return again!

PS We were here in October 2020, but your grounds are looking so pretty this springtime.

Williams Family, Dartford, Kent

17 April 2021

What a wonderful week we have had in your lovely  barn, Jill.  The barn has been beautifully done and it was the perfect place for us to stay.  Thanks also to Mike for the fossil walk on Charmouth beach.  The children had a great time looking for treasure, and it was a very interesting afternoon, enjoyed by us all.  We enjoyed our walk into Lyme Regis and visits to Branscombe, Burton Bradstock, Beer, Charmouth and Lyme Regis.  We would love to come back for another visit.  Thank you.

 

Sarah Whitmore and family

24 October 2020

A wonderfully luxurious family space.  Thank you, Jill, for every attention you gave us.  We all had a splendid time exploring various facets of your homestead and the local area.  Your gallery added another dimension and we reminisced on holidays past when we were able to travel overseas!  I would highly recommend Leys to young and old alike and for family holidays.  Thank you, Jill.

Sue Morgan and family, Ipswich and Blackwater

29 August 2020

A wonderful family space surrounded by beautifully planted gardens with peaceful arbours and places to sit and relax.  Kids loved all the games facilities and nature reserve.  Lots of fun hunting fossils on Charmouth and Monmouth beaches.  Really enjoyed cooking in the pizza oven.  Thank you, Jill, for all you have done to make this a lovely haven.

The Harris Family

25 July 2020

We had a fabulous time and with lockdown it has been especially welcome.  Our host Jill regularly went beyond the call of duty.  The barn has been marvellous and so well equipped.  So it will be 5 star rating for everything.  We thoroughly enjoyed the walks to Lyme and the other coastal walks.  Many thanks for a fantastic stay.

The Weatherall Family

11 July 2020

Enjoyed our few days staying in Leys.  Very comfortable place to stay.   Lovely meals at Hunters Lodge, carvery at the Talbot Arms and also Pilot Boat in Lyme Regis.  Also thoroughly recommend visiting The Donkey Sanctuary nr. Sidmouth.

The Thomas and Crowley Families, Wiltshire

2 November 2019

What a fabulous house and location.  We have loved every moment.  Enjoyed walks and spending time on the beach, celebrating Tom’s 30th birthday. The house is fantastic and beautifully appointed.  We hope to return soon.

Many thanks for a wonderful stay.  Helen, Tony, James, Amp, Tom, Ruth and Rupert

Boreham Family, Wilts, Bath and London

7 October 2019

House fantastic, clean, so well-equipped.  A fantastic week – so much to do in the house, outside the house, in the area, and loved the sandy beach at Lyme Regis.  Good for the boat and boards.  Fossil walk at Charmouth – waffle place and Cinammon Indian at Axminster – loved West Bay – Beer is very pretty.. Don’t want to leave!  Will be back.  Thank you, Jill, for everything.

Savage and Jones Families, Stroud and Leeds

24 August 2019

Brilliant stay.  Thank you.  In a fantastic property.  Clean and well-equipped.  Beautiful house.  Thoroughly recommend to others.

Thank you.

Billington Family

20 July 2019

Our fourth stay at Leys.  Thank you, Jill, for going above and beyond for helping us organise a 40th birthday cake.  Plenty to do around the area and plenty to see around the farm.  The cats are a hit!  Not quite the same without Meg the dog.  Lovely weather again too!  Thank you so much, Jill.

The Morgan and Hon families

25 May 2019

Had another wonderful stay.  Stunning views, great outdoor games, beautiful barn conversion with everything we needed.  Perfect for our family holiday.  We will be back!  Thank you!

Pflaumer and Ofosu families, Dorset, Kent and Birmingham

20 April 2019

We had a lovely time here at Leys – thanks so much.  The house is fantastic and we loved the Lyme Regis area.  We didn’t eat out much,  but would recommend Aroma for coffee/lunch in Lyme Regis.

Brodey Family, Banbury, Oxon

6 January 2019

We loved this house and the space, and it was everything we hoped for from this week.  Friendly people, beautiful countryside, stunning home.  My boys loved the walk up to the nature area, and enjoyed climbing the treehouse and playing on the various swings and rope ladder.  They love nature and were very excited to see so many grasshoppers – of all things.  We loved the beautiful horse in the field too.  Thank you for a wonderful holiday.

Cara, Thom and family

2 November 2018

Wow – what an INCREDIBLE few days!  Thank you so much, Jill, for letting us stay in your beautiful barn.  It genuinely exceeded all expectations.   Our mother had “the best birthday ever” and it’s not hard to understand how!  We loved exploring the beautiful grounds and returning home to such cosy and comfortable accommodation.  “Devon’s best kept secret” (in our opinion!).  Thanks so much for your kindness and generosity.  We will look back with very fond memories of our time in Leys and hope to return for upcoming 40th/70th family celebrations!!

The Holt Family, Woodley, Reading

7 October 2018

Lovely accommodation and lovely surroundings.  Everything you could possibly need catered for.  Had a brilliant week.

Eaten at: Hunters Lodge – excellent; Italia – good; The Pilot Boat – excellent fish and chips; Harbour Inn, Axmouth – excellent.

Tram at Seaton worth a ride, including wheelchairs.

Thank you, Jill, from us all.

King party, Nottingham

15 September 2018

A lovely family holiday in a beautiful location.  Thank you, Jill, for being so welcoming.  We had lots of lovely days out and enjoyed the facilities offered by your beautiful barn conversion.

The Pope and Morton Families

4 August 2018

A great venue for birthday week.  Thank you, Jill, for a wonderful barn conversion – quality and comfort.  Great location for walks and runs.  Enjoyable pottery session – thank you, Amanda.

Richard and Josh, Market Harborough, Leics

4 July 2018

We have enjoyed staying in this house, with comfortable beds.  We enjoyed visiting all the villages, etc. around this area.  It was lovely to meet Jill.  The children enjoyed the skittles and swingball, and the many beaches.  The eight of us fitted in here very well.  Thanks.

The Dommetts, Husseys and Revells, Sutton and Worthing

1 June 2018

We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay in your beautiful barn, and loved exploring the surrounding areas: the fantastic shops in Lyme Regis, the wonderful beaches at Charmouth and West Bay, and Pecorama Gardens in Beer.  Thank you, Jill

Louise, Andy, George, Amelie, Pam, Marion, Andrew & Toby the Dog, Ingatestone, Essex

14 April 2018

Fantastic stay, very comfortable place and great, friendly host.  Loved the Dippy on Tour for kids, local pub the Talbot Arms.

The Gales and Gardners

16 February 2018

Beautiful setting; lovely, relaxing and peaceful time.  Recommend ‘The Old Inn’ at Kilmington for great food.   We and the dogs enjoyed the walk into Lyme Regis, followed by chips on the Cobb!

The Eckersleys, Knowles and Taylors

30 December 2017

We had a lovely weekend all together.  The house was beautiful.  So enjoyable: we went to River Cottage for lunch, which was wonderful.  We spent the weekend in the stables, playing the games.  So great, we hope to see you again.

Francis, Katherine, Christopher, Carol and Bill, Reading

29 September 2017

Our second visit in two years, and once again it was memorable.  We didn’t have wall-to-wall sun, but that didn’t matter, because in the Barn everything is here.  We enjoyed fishing, walking and – would you believe it – sunbathing.  We can’t wait to get back when our diaries allow.

Thank you, Jill, for making everything so easy and ironing out any problems.

The Saunders Family, including Charles I, Bucks and W Sussex

26 August 2017

A perfect venue for a family holiday!  The Barn is stunning and we loved all the activities on site, particularly boules!  The peace and quiet was bliss, and we felt very lucky to have blue skies for almost the whole week.

Thanks to Jill for being so friendly and helpful, and for the freshly-dug potatoes, which 5 1/2-month Amaya enjoyed for her first taste of food!

Jane, Bala, Anane, Phil, Lucien, Caroline & Amaya, London & W Sussex

15 July 2017

We have had the most fabulous stay at Leys.  The welcome and attention to detail by Jill are beyond compare.  The accommodation is stunning and of an exceptional standard.  Everything you could need is here and more.

Perfect place for a perfect weekend.  Jill was the most accommodating hostess.  Even supplied perfect weather!

The Gresham Party, Bournemouth/Wimborne

19 June 2017

Another super family get-together of six plus one dog for a birthday treat.  Lovely location and fabulous facilities.  Loads of high quality space for all the family.  Loved all the games facilities.  Weather was good for the time of year, but staying in would not have been a problem.  We needed more practice with the log-burner!

Beautiful barn with lovely decor! Enjoyed the neighbours – horses and cows plus Meggie the farm dog – and the walk from the Barn to Lyme Regis.

Heather, Nigel, Ruth, Tom, Catherine, Tim & Archie, Bath & Chippenham

2 April 2017

We really enjoyed our week’s holiday over Christmas. Beautiful barn conversion, lovely area – we did some great walks.  We’d love to come back.

Grant, Nicky, Tharicha Lyn Longmuir, Jersey; Kerry, Tim, Raff & Theo Scott, Surrey

December 2016

We had a wonderful time here with the kids and grandparents.  Beautiful place and surroundings.  We all loved Lyme Regis.

Stephen Almashier

September 2016

Fantastic week and accommodation lovely; weather great; Jill and Meggie the Dog great hosts [Tony]

Lovely holiday home, felt very welcomed by Jill, and enjoyed a great time [Jenny]

Beautiful holiday home, which enabled me to have a very enjoyable time, thank you, and the pictures are amazing [Jen]

I’ve had a lovely time at this beautiful house.  Wonderful place for a wonderful holiday.  Thanks [Sophie]

A great house in a beautiful location.  Fantastic facilities that kept us all entertained.  Lovely meals at Hix, By the Bay and The Canteen in Axminster.  Great BBQs out on the terrace, and all the better for the bag of logs, and the perfect place to enjoy the scones cooked by Jen and Sophie.  Thank you, Jill, for having such a well-equipped holiday home.

McCallum and Farmer families, Bucks

August 2016

Thank you for a very enjoyable stay at the barn.  You have certainly provided all facilities required for our entertainment, including the weather!

The Sabin Family

August 2016

Thank you, Jill, for a welcome that made us feel ‘at home’. [Previous] comments cover it all for us too.  Superb place, 10/10.  Lim riverside walk to Lyme absolutely perfect for us and dog.  Peace and comfort in Leys much appreciated.  Saw Red Arrow display too!

Taylor Family, Cambridge and Winchester

July 2016